Truly out-of-the-box – To be continued….

From my modest experience, I feel our ability to think out-of-the-box degrades and erodes over time because we get conditioned to what we see around. We start accepting the nature around us and beleive that it HAS to be this way. Over time, our accumulated beliefs and perceptions give way to choosing the “trusted” path, “staying in course”, “following the rules” and respecting “facts-n-figures”. The tendency to question authority takes a backseat.

Few memorable quotes spring to mind immediately –
1. Imagination is more powerful than Knowledge. – A. Einstein
2. All progress depends on the unreasonable man. – G.B.Shaw
3. What is proven now was once only imagined. – Dont know…but like it.

4. Incremental change leads to irrelevance – Google Cyrus Mistry

They have one idea in common. That it is not “wrong” to question what is generally considered “right” – because after all what we think is “right” is the outcome of a creative person’s genius to question his contemporary beliefs.

To prove this, I am now performing what Einstein called “thought experiments” with my four-year old son because he has no idea how the world works. In fact, he thinks he knows it all but the good part is – he’s not “conditioned” or “influenced” so his responses come straight from the heart. His answers sometimes make me feel “dumb” at best because I could have never thought about it that way.

Education and experience has taught me to understand the world the way its presented to me, not how it was meant to be.

Here’s some excerpts –
Me: How does the car wiper work?
Son: It works by itself when it starts raining and when we have our hands on the wheel.

Me: How would you create a machine that would give milk?
Son: I would make a cow.

Me: If you cant go the supermarket to get your snacks and were stuck at home, what would you do?
Son: I will make my own snacks

Me: What determines the speed of the car? (Remember he’s never seen me press the gas-pedal, but always seen me filling gas)
Son: If there’s more gas in the car, it goes fast. If there’s less, it goes slow.

Me: Why is it raining today?
Son: Because the forecast guy said so in the TV!

One Response

  1. Hmmm….thought provoking indeed! I will wait for Part 2…

Leave a Reply

